Temporary Art Review Book Launch + Roundtable

Join us on Wednesday, December 14th for the St. Louis launch of Temporary Art Review’s five year anthology, “To Make a Public: Temporary Art Review 2011-16” along with other titles from INCA Press. The event will feature a short reading followed by a roundtable on artists’ publications in times of social and political crisis with St. Louis-based artists and publications, including Buzz Spector, Bret Schneider, Amy Reidel, Sarah Hermes Griesbach and Cole Lu representing a range of publications from the important historical journal Whitewalls, to online journal Caesura, print quarterly All the Art, the fort gondo zine library and a range of artists’ publications.

To Make a Public: Temporary Art Review 2011-2016 is a selected anthology of the first five years of online publication Temporary Art Review and a catalogue of the related exhibition Document V celebrating the same benchmark. Edited by Temporary Art Review founders Sarrita Hunn and James McAnally, To Make A Public offers a singular lens into broader eruptions in artists’ publishing and artistic practice over the past five years as a primary document of our moment through the collected writings of artists, curators, activists and critics.

Arising out of a history of artists’ publications from self-published pamphlets at the earliest Salons through to the seminal magazines of the 1960’s, To Make a Public maps the return of the alternative space movement alongside social and political upheavals since 2011 through commissioned essays, interviews and first-person accounts from many of those directly involved.

To Make a Public includes contributions from Shannon Stratton, Steven Cottingham, Plug Projects, Good Weather, Transformazium, Kareem Reid, Anya Ventura, Matthew Fluharty (Art of the Rural), Cameron Shaw and Amanda Brinkman (Pelican Bomb), Taylor Renee and Jessica Lynne (ARTS.BLACK), contemptorary, Ryan Wong, Rianna Jade Parker, Rozsa Zita Farkas, Gelare Khoshgozaran, Gretchen Coombs, ACRE, The Black Artists Retreat, Signal Fire, Lauren Frances Adams with Occupy Museums, Mary Coyne, Sam Gould, Abigail Satinsky, Anthony Romero, Sarrita Hunn with Jonas Staal and many others. Design by Haynes Riley.

Published by INCA Press and Distributed by Motto Berlin.
Pre-orders available online here.